Rectangle 14Created using FigmaGroupCreated using Figma

Prize for Contemporary Architecture 2024 and exhibition at Hotel Alma Barcelona

European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture
Mies van der Rohe Awards 2024

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Awards (EUmies Awards) is an internationally renowned recognition celebrating excellence in contemporary European architecture. Founded in 1988 in Barcelona by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe and the European Union’s cultural and creative sectors support programme, these annual awards have become a major benchmark in the world of architecture.

Galería de arte contemporáneo Plato
Plato KWK Promes. Photo Juliusz Sokołowski.

The EUmies Awards recognise quality and innovation in architectural works in Europe, highlighting both established projects as well as emerging new talents. In addition, these awards also acknowledge end of degree projects of recently graduated architects, known as Young Talent.

In this context, the EUmies Awards not only recognise creativity and technical excellence, but also promote the exchange of ideas and the development of architecture in Europe, encouraging diversity and innovation in the field of urban design and construction.

Convento Saint François
Saint François by Amelia Tavella Architectes. Photo Thibaut Dini.

The seven finalists of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Awards 2024 have been announced, marking a milestone in the celebration of innovative design and architectural excellence in Europe. Among the outstanding finalists, five have been selected in the Architecture category, while two have been selected in the Emerging category.

The jury, in its evaluation of the shortlisted works, highlighted their ability to promote local policy references that could potentially become European-wide models. All of these works have been commended for creating high-quality inclusive living environments. Many of them have transformed and improved the conditions of communities, especially those that were in the process of being forgotten, such as former industrial areas and rural villages. In addition, works in bigger cities have contributed significantly to giving new life to suburban areas, establishing strong connections with the surrounding neighbourhoods.

It is worth noting that the jury members and award winners will stay at the prestigious Hotel Alma Barcelona. During architecture week, models of the finalist projects will be on display in the hotel lobby, offering a unique opportunity for the public to appreciate these masterpieces of contemporary design first hand.

Among the Spanish finalists are two notably exceptional projects. Colegio Reggio, located in Madrid, Autonomous Region of Madrid, has been shortlisted in the Architecture category, designed by Andrés Jaque/Office for Political Innovation. This school seeks to go beyond the paradigm of sustainability by engaging with ecology through an approach that integrates environmental impact, beyond-human partnerships, material mobilisation, collective governance and pedagogy within its architecture.

Colegio Reggio
Colegio Reggio. Andrés Jaque. Photo José Hevia

In the Emerging category, Biblioteca Gabriel García Márquez, located in Barcelona, Catalonia, designed by Suma Arquitectura, has been a significant achievement. This library not only serves as a vital space for education, but also represents the culmination of a plan spanning three decades to develop cultural facilities in Barcelona. Located in a working class and vindicative neighbourhood, this library stands as a “people’s place” that has been long awaited by the community.

Biblioteca Gabriel García Márquez
Gabriel García Márquez Library by SUMA Arquitectura. Photo Jesús Granada.

These finalists embody the best of contemporary architectural design in Europe and deserve special recognition for their contribution to the creation of more inclusive, sustainable and aesthetically pleasing urban spaces.

Subscribe to


Fill out this form to know all the news of the ALMA.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Privacy policy


This website uses its own and third-party cookies to improve the browsing experience.

Read the Cookies Policy.